Green Buildings

In order to make a positive impact on our carbon footprint, we need to be responsible in how we deal with natural resources. Through certifications, we ensure that our buildings and processes around the world adhere to high sustainability standards. We aim to make a major long-term contribution to our goal of climate neutrality through resource-friendly construction standards that cover the planning, construction, operation-, and maintenance of our buildings.

Buildings and processes

To make our 160 hotels around the world and internal processes as sustainable as possible, our focus is on external audits and independent certification. From 2022, we will have all of our leased and managed hotels certified through third-party audits – in accordance with the requirements of our CSR management system and taking into account internationally recognized ISO standards. More than 80 percent of our leased and managed hotels have already received the corresponding certification, which means we are on the right track. We have also been a member of the German Sustainable Building Council (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Nachhaltiges Bauen, DGNB) since 2019, and along with some 1,200 other member organizations-, are working to continuously promote sustainable building. Together with our project partners, we have set a significant milestone with the Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt in Berlin. To date, this has the highest overall compliance with DGNB certification ever achieved for a new hotel building.

Our goals

  • From 2022: Certification of our CSR management system in accordance with accepted ISO standards for all types of contracts (with franchise hotels for new contracts from 2021)
  • From 2022: Recognition of our CSR management system in accordance with the criteria of the Global Sustainable Tourism Council (GSTC)
  • Increase in the certification of new buildings in accordance with the criteria of the German Sustainable Building Council (DGNB)
 
Natural resources

Our goal is to use natural resources sustainably along our entire value chain. That’s why we already cover the power demand of our leased and managed hotels in Germany and Austria completely from regenerative energy sources – and aim to achieve this globally at our leased and managed sites by 2035. We also want to continuously reduce our energy and water consumption. By 2030, we want to achieve this through energy-efficiency measures, water-saving technology-, and water reuse – attaching special importance to reduction measures at hotels in regions that are particularly affected by water stress.

Our goals

  • By 2030: 20 percent reduction in total energy consumption
  • By 2030: 5 percent decrease in total water consumption
  • By 2035: Covering 100 percent of the power demand at all leased and managed sites from renewable energy sources
Emissions

In contributing to the fight against climate change, our goal is to operate our company in a climate-neutral way by 2050. We aim to achieve this not only with respect to carbon dioxide, but to all gases that damage the climate and by only pursuing science-based reduction targets. As a demonstration of our ambitions, we will already be switching our first hotel to climate-neutral operations from this year.

Our goals

  • From 2021: Conversion of our first hotel to climate-neutral operations
  • In 2021: Launching the process of setting science-based targets through pilot hotels
  • By 2022: Definition and publication of science-based targets
  • By 2050: Climate-neutral business operations

Green Buildings

Um unseren CO2-Fußabdruck positiv zu beeinflussen, müssen wir verantwortungsbewusst mit natürlichen Ressourcen umgehen. Durch Zertifizierungen sichern wir weltweit hohe Nachhaltigkeitsstandards für unsere Gebäude und Prozesse: Ressourcenschonende Baustandards, die sich auf Planung, Konstruktion, sowie Betrieb und Wartung unserer Gebäude auswirken, sollen hierbei langfristig einen großen Beitrag zu unserem Ziel der Klimaneutralität leisten.

Gebäude und Prozesse

Um unsere weltweit 160 Hotels sowie unsere internen Prozesse so nachhaltig wie möglich zu gestalten, setzen wir auf externe Prüfungen und unabhängige Zertifizierungen. Ab 2022 werden wir unsere sämtlichen Pacht- und Managementhotels nach den Anforderungen unseres CSR-Managementsystems über Third-Party-Audits zertifizieren lassen – unter Berücksichtigung von international anerkannten ISO-Standards. Dass bereits heute über 80 Prozent unserer Pacht- und Managementhotels über entsprechende Zertifikate verfügen, zeigt, dass wir auf dem richtigen Weg sind. Außerdem sind wir seit 2019 Mitglied der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Nachhaltiges Bauen (DGNB) und treiben nachhaltiges Bauen kontinuierlich mit rund 1.200 weiteren Mitgliedsorganisationen voran. Mit dem Steigenberger Hotel Am Kanzleramt in Berlin haben wir hier mit unseren Projektpartnern einen Meilenstein gesetzt. Dieses Gebäude hat bis dato den höchsten Gesamterfüllungsgrad, der jemals für eine DGNB Hotel-Zertifizierung im Neubau erreicht wurde.

Unsere Ziele

- Ab 2022: Zertifizierung unseres CSR-Managementsystems gemäß anerkannten ISO-Standards für alle Vertragsarten (bei Franchise-Hotels für Neuverträge ab 2021)
- Ab 2022: Anerkennung unseres CSR-Managementsystems gemäß den Kriterien des Global Sustainable Tourism Council (GSTC)
- Steigerung der Zertifizierung von Neubauten gemäß den Kriterien der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Nachhaltiges Bauen (DGNB)

 
Natürliche Ressourcen

Entlang unserer gesamten Wertschöpfungskette verfolgen wir das Ziel, natürliche Ressourcen nachhaltig zu nutzen. Daher decken wir bereits heute den Strombedarf für unsere Pacht- und Managementhotels in Deutschland und Österreich vollständig aus regenerativen Energiequellen ab. Bis 2035 möchten wir dies in unseren Pacht- und Managementstandorten global erreichen. Auch unseren Energie- und Wasserverbrauch möchten wir kontinuierlich senken. Bis 2030 wollen wir dies durch Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen und den Einsatz wassersparender Technik sowie die Wiederverwertung von Wasser erreichen. Dabei legen wir den Schwerpunkt unserer Reduktionsmaßnahmen bewusst auf Hotels, welche in Regionen liegen, die besonders von Wasserstress betroffen sind.

Unsere Ziele

- Bis 2030: Reduktion des Gesamtenergieverbrauchs um 20 Prozent
- Bis 2030: Verringerung des Gesamtwasserverbrauchs um 5 Prozent
- Bis 2035: Bezug von 100 Prozent Strom aus erneuerbaren Energiequellen an sämtlichen Pacht- und Managementstandorten

Emissionen

Um zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels beizutragen, ist es unser Ziel, unser Unternehmen bis 2050 klimaneutral zu führen. Dabei berücksichtigen wir nicht nur Kohlenstoffdioxid, sondern beziehen sämtliche klimaschädlichen Gase ein und möchten auf Grundlage von Science Based Targets ausschließlich wissenschaftlich fundierte Reduktionsziele verfolgen. Um unsere Ambitionen zu verdeutlichen, werden wir noch in diesem Jahr unser erstes Hotel auf einen klimaneutralen Betrieb umstellen.

Unsere Ziele

- Ab 2021: Umstellung des ersten Hotels auf einen klimaneutralen Betrieb
- In 2021: Start des Zielsetzungsprozesses für Science Based Targets durch Pilothotels
- Bis 2022: Formulierung und Veröffentlichung von Science Based Targets
- Bis 2050: klimaneutraler Geschäftsbetrieb