Fair Partnerships

We want to set new trends – and to have our suppliers join us on the journey to greater sustainability. Whether it’s through our purchasing policies – where we are placing more and more emphasis on regional, fairly traded, and certified products – or through more sustainable supply chains or respecting human rights. We are always working to ensure that our high standards are implemented and maintained – and we expect the same from our partners on a global level.

Sustainable supply chains

To maintain trusting and reliable working relationships, we expect our business partners to meet certain minimum sustainability requirements. Our Deutsche Hospitality Code of Conduct is therefore not only binding within the company, but also applies to our partner companies. In addition, in 2021 we will approve a Business Partner Code of Conduct created specifically for all our business partners – in particular our suppliers. Starting in 2022, we will carry out inspections to ensure compliance among our core suppliers. Furthermore, we are currently developing a supply-chain management system on the topic of human rights. We will conduct regular checks from 2022 to ensure our core suppliers around the world are complying with the system.

Our goals

  • By 2024: Alignment of global purchasing processes with our minimum sustainability requirements
  • From 2022: Use of internal audits to verify compliance with our minimum sustainability requirements
  • From 2024: 100 percent coverage of all core suppliers through audits
More certified products

In order to uphold our high sustainability standards, we attach particular importance to certifications when purchasing products and using services. We want to increase the number of products and services we use that have ecological and/or social seals of approval – particularly in the areas of food, beverages, cleaning products-, and textiles.

Our goals

  • From 2022: Exclusive purchase of MSC- or ASC-certified fish in our European leased and managed hotels (for certifiable fish species)
  • By 2022: Increase in sustainably certified cleaning products
  • By 2024: Increase in sustainably certified food and beverages and nonfood products
Animal welfare

Promoting the protection, health-, and well-being of animals is a top priority. That's why we will remove certain endangered species from the products we use, require our suppliers to comply with a defined set of minimum requirements, and give preference to suppliers with high animal-welfare standards. In Europe, for example, we no longer use endangered fish species and follow the recommendations of the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF). We have also removed foie gras completely from our food range – and are committed to sustainably certified alternatives that explicitly do not use the practice of force-feeding. In Europe, we have been using cage-free eggs and egg products exclusively since 2019 – and our objective is to achieve this globally by 2024.

Our goals

  • From 2021: No use of endangered fish species
  • From 2021: Ban on goose liver produced by force-feeding (foie gras)
  • By 2024: Global ban on eggs and egg products from caged birds

Fair Partnerships

Wir wollen zukunftsweisende Akzente setzen und nehmen unsere Lieferanten mit auf die Reise zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit. Sei es durch unser Einkaufsverhalten, bei dem wir immer mehr Wert auf regionale, fair gehandelte und zertifizierte Produkte legen. Sei es durch nachhaltigere Lieferketten oder durch die Einhaltung von Menschenrechten. Wir arbeiten kontinuierlich daran, dass unsere hohen Standards umgesetzt und eingehalten werden. Den gleichen Anspruch haben wir auch an unsere Partner auf globaler Ebene.

Nachhaltige Lieferketten

Für eine vertrauensvolle und verlässliche Zusammenarbeit erwarten wir von unseren Geschäftspartnern, dass sie bestimmte Mindestanforderungen bezüglich Nachhaltigkeit erfüllen. Daher ist unser Deutsche Hospitality Code of Conduct nicht nur intern bindend, sondern gilt auch für unsere Partnerunternehmen. Hierzu ergänzend werden wir in 2021 einen Business Partner Code of Conduct verabschieden, welcher sich explizit an sämtliche Geschäftspartner und insbesondere unsere Lieferanten richtet. Die Überprüfung der Einhaltung werden wir bei unseren Kernlieferanten ab 2022 starten. Darüber hinaus erarbeiten wir derzeit ein Lieferketten-Managementsystem zum Thema Menschenrechte. Eine regelmäßige Überprüfung auf Einhaltung werden wir ab 2022 bei unseren Kernlieferanten auf globaler Ebene durchführen.

Unsere Ziele

- Bis 2024: Umstellung unserer globalen Einkaufsprozesse auf unsere Nachhaltigkeitsmindestanforderungen
- Ab 2022: Überprüfung der Einhaltung unserer Nachhaltigkeitsmindestanforderungen durch interne Audits
- Ab 2024: 100 Prozent Abdeckung durch Audits bei allen Kernlieferanten

Steigerung zertifizierter Produkte

Um beim Kauf von Produkten sowie der Inanspruchnahme von Dienstleistungen unsere hohen Nachhaltigkeitsstandards sicherstellen zu können, setzen wir auf Zertifizierungen. Insbesondere bei Lebensmitteln, Getränken, Reinigungsmitteln sowie Textilien möchten wir den Anteil der Produkte und Dienstleistungen erhöhen, die über ausgewählte ökologische und/oder soziale Prüfsiegel verfügen.

Unsere Ziele

- Ab 2022: ausschließlicher Einkauf von MSC- oder ASC-zertifiziertem Fisch in unseren europäischen und Pacht- und Managementhotels, bei zertifizierbaren Fischarten
- Bis 2022: Steigerung der als nachhaltig zertifizierten Reinigungsmittel
- Bis 2024: Steigerung der als nachhaltig zertifizierter Food-and-Beverage- und Non-Food-Produkte

Tierwohl

Die Einhaltung des Tierschutzes und die Gesundheit sowie das Wohlbefinden der Tiere hat für uns höchste Priorität. Deshalb werden wir bestimmte gefährdete Tierarten aus unserem Angebot streichen, von unseren Lieferanten die Einhaltung definierter Mindestanforderungen einfordern und Lieferanten, welche über hohe Tierwohlstandards verfügen, bevorzugt auswählen. In Europa haben wir beispielsweise gefährdete Fischarten ausgelistet und folgen hierbei den Empfehlungen des World Wide Fund For Nature (WWF). Ebenso haben wir Gänseleber aus Stopfmast (Foie gras) vollständig aus unserem Angebot genommen. Wir setzen auf nachhaltig zertifizierte Alternativen, die explizit keine Stopfmast anwenden. Außerdem verwenden wir in Europa seit 2019 keine Eier und Eiprodukte aus Käfighaltung mehr. Bis 2024 möchten wir dies auch global erreicht haben.

Unsere Ziele

- Ab 2021: Streichung gefährdeter Fischarten
- Ab 2021: Verbot von Gänseleber aus Stopfmast (Foie gras)
- Bis 2024: globales Verbot von Eiern und Eiprodukten aus Käfighaltung